"Asking to be referred elsewhere!"

Referred by my GP to have a corticosteroid injection in my hand...simple hey! I turned up for my appointment last Friday and after an acceptable wait, was taken to a consulting room. Only at this point was it realised that my appointment had been made with the wrong surgeon, somewhat embarrassing and irritating for both of us. OK, to err is only human and after a it of running around by one of the Nurses I was informed that an appointment (with the correct Dr) had been made for me for today, one week later. I arrived today and my suspicion was aroused immediately when the Receptionist kept asking for more and more details, then I was told I didn't have an appointment today and it was on the 12th of August "didn't you get the letter.." no I didn't get a letter. Plus by the way, it's a consultation only, not the treatment I was referred for. I have to take holiday to attend an appointment during the middle part of the day, so not impressed that a second day has been wasted. One mistake as I said is only human, to make much the same kind of mistake a second time is borderline incompetence and I simply don't trust you to get it right third time around - I can't afford another wasted day, especially as I would probably have to make another follow up appointment to actually get the treatment - another opportunity to mess it up I fear! By the way, no disrespect to your FOH staff, they were obviously doing their best in to sort out failings further up the chain, I was dealt with in a kind and courteous manner. Copied to file and GP Surgery.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Euxton Hall Hospital

We are in receipt of your feedback and are sorry that you were left disappointed after your experience of Euxton Hall Hospital. We take all feedback seriously and hope you are satisfied after the recent contact you had with a member of our hospital team. If you have any other issues you would like to discuss please do not hesitate to contact us.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful