"21 hours there for nothing!"

About: North Middlesex Hospital

I went to the A&E department after an assessment over the phone with 111 when they told me to go straight away there. It was 4 pm. At 5.10 a nurse saw me and asked me lots of question to tell me: you will be seen shortly. I was seen at 6.40. I asked for a scan because of my problem. They gave me blood test and I waited until 8.20 when the doctor told me: you need a scan but the scan is not closed sorry. They asked me to stay overnight but I replied that I wanted to go go back home to rest and come back the day after but they said: you will lose the priority for the scan, sleep here and tomorrow you will have a scan. I waited and at 00.45 they finally found some accommodation for me for the night... The day after they told me to wait and at 12 when people were having lunch they told me there was no slot available for me for the scan so they told me to go home, spend the weekend and come back on Monday. Conclusion: I waited there 21 hours for NOTHING! Now I am happily at home with my pain still there and still worried.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Middlesex Hospital

Sorry that you were not happy with the treatment you received. You were triaged by our A&E doctors and part of their assessment was for you to have a scan and be admitted. The admittance of road accident victims is unpredictable and the priority for scans changes by the hour and we are sorry that this meant a long delay for your scan. During your stay in hospital doctors are continually assessing patients and the doctors on the ward agreed with you that you could go home and come back to have your scan. Your comments will be shared with my team to showcase how as a team we can improve upon our decisions. Please do not hesitate to email me, A&E service manager, mark.channell@nhs.net if you wish to provide further feedback.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful