"Rude and arrogant consultant"

About: Arrowe Park Hospital

Having now attended several out patient appointments, I am appalled at the rudeness of the senior consultant in this department. He seems incapable of listening or empathising with his patients and has the most appalling interpersonal skills. Given that many of his patients are cancer victims I am amazed that the hospital continues to accept this behaviour. Waiting in clinic last month, other patients complained about the same thing with many commenting that they dread the day of their appointment and are always made to feel that they are wasting his valuable time! I urge others to ask their GP whether they can be treated at another hospital before taking a haematology appointment here.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about your experience at Arrowe Park Hospital. Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust is committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right. We note your comments about your consultant. If you would like for us to look into your concerns further, we will need personal details and more information about what happened. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, you can ring the Complaints Department on 0151 604 7660, email wih-tr.Complaints@nhs.net or in writing to Complaints Department, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. The Complaints Department can discuss the best way that we can try to address your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful