"Disgusting treatment, rudest staff,"

About: Heartlands Hospital

My mother was admitted, she was taken to CDU, where she vomited into a sick bowl, filling it up. We asked the sick bowl be replaced, we were told to keep the dirty bowl with us and they would clear it in a bit. We waited an hour whereupon it was only me pointing our keeping a bowl full of vomit on the floor by my mothers bed was not the most hygienic thing. Nurses were rude and patronising one even said they were to busy to deal with me and could I not see they was busy sorting out the ward (this nurse was sitting down on a chair by a desk) and audibly sighed. When I asked for their name they refused and told me to "sort it out with here right here and now" This is frankly unacceptable. Cleanliness, staff attitudes and now reviewing how many targets the hospital has missed, I do not understand why this hospital is still standing. This was at the surgical assessment unit.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Iona Belgrove, Patient Services Manager, Heart Of England NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback regarding you and your mother’s experience in the Emergency Department. I am so sorry that you had to experience the poor behaviour of the nursing staff in CDU. I will investigate your concerns today and ensure that the matron is made aware of the issues you have raised.

Please get in touch with me at Patient Services on 0121 424 0808 or email me @ iona.belgrove@heartofengland.nhs.uk.

Best wishes and a speedy recovery to your mother.

Iona

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful