"Overstretched staff doing their very best"

About: Leicester General Hospital / Maternity

(as the patient),

Having had a terrible experience previously two years ago with the after care at lgh maternity, which I feel resulted in medical issues I suffered with for 8 months after birth, I was needless to say a little anxious about returning for my second child's birth. I did complain 2 years ago to PILS but to no avail, so don't feel there is any point in writing again, although I was assured that staffing had increased to help prevent issues like those I complained about, in the future.

Sadly I actually saw very little evidence of this. The labour ward and antenatal care were again exceptional and of a very high standard, only to be let down by ward 30 (I believe is the maternity ward number). The staff are lovely and you can tell they really do want to help but they are just so busy and cannot dedicate the time you honestly feel they want to give you.

Having your buzzer either left unanswered for a long time or answered by the doorman, when you have just given birth, maybe breast feeding etc.....I still feel is unacceptable. They were full to capacity and the poor staff were so overstretched, pressing my buzzer to go for a pee, less than 24 hours after a c section and waiting and waiting till I was physically in pain waiting to pee and almost not making it to the toilet when help arrived to get me out of bed for the first time after c section was embarrassing and very painful. Staff are lovely, just too busy and overstretched to the point that you not only feel your not getting the best care but you truly feel for their overstretched staff doing their very best in what I would consider, unacceptable working conditions.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Leicester General Hospital

Dear mumof3 We are firstly truly sorry that you had a disappointing experience two years ago and that you didn’t reach a resolution through PILS. More staff have been employed in the two years since your visit, but unfortunately there are still really busy days. Regrettably this seems to have been the case during your more recent visit too. We really appreciate your kind words about the staff and your especially nice comments about the labour ward and antenatal care, but recognise how frustrating it must have been to wait for your buzzer to be answered. This is completely unacceptable and something that the service will very much want to address. We understand that you have been put off using PILS, but if you would like to this matter to be investigated - to help prevent this happening again - please email communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk, outlining your concerns, with your name, address and date of birth, and we’ll look into this. Thank you again for your feedback. We wish you and your family the very best. Sincerely Communications Team Leicester’s Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

Dear mumof3

We are firstly truly sorry that you had a disappointing experience two years ago and that you didn’t reach a resolution through PILS.

More staff have been employed in the two years since your visit, but unfortunately there are still really busy days. Regrettably this seems to have been the case during your more recent visit too.

We really appreciate your kind words about the staff and your especially nice comments about the labour ward and antenatal care, but recognise how frustrating it must have been to wait for your buzzer to be answered. We are truly sorry for this and recognise that this is completely unacceptable and something that the service will very much want to address.

We understand that you have been put off using PILS, but if you would like to this matter to be investigated - to help prevent this happening again - please email communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk, outlining your concerns, with your name, address and date of birth, and we’ll look into this.

Thank you again for your feedback.

We wish you and your family the very best.

Sincerely

Communications Team

Leicester’s Hospitals