"Very rude and dismissive consultant, appalling..."

About: West Middlesex University Hospital

I visited the ENT clinic and I am always aware that there will be a waiting time and am a patient person, so after waiting 2 hours to see the consultant you can imagine my horror when every question I asked was met with a completely indecisive and apathetic answer. Not even a suggestion for further investigation as my conisiton has effected my life significantly. I was genuinly in and out of the office in less than 5 minutes. All that was explained to me is that he could do nothing for me and when I asked if any other tests could be done as I have a plethora of problems effecting my hearing he merely replied that it is a matter for neurology, when I explained that neurology referred me to his department he just looked at me and thanked me for attending. I have never been ignored and so rudely and unjustly treated by any doctor in my life. No interaction, no advise no explanation. I am a firm suppoprter of the NHS and am always very respcetful to all staff at hospitals so why cannot this be returned to patients who are genuinly in need of help and guidance. He should be thoroughly ashamed of his behaviour. It was an outrage as I certainly did not expect the red carpet treatment only a common courtesy which was not extended. Shame on you!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from West Middlesex University Hospital

We would like to apologise that your experiences at our hospital did not meet the high standards we aim for, for all our patients. Your comments have been forwarded to the relevant team. However we would like to opportunity to investigate the issues you have raised, and respond to you in detail. Please contact us directly via our PALS (patient advice and liaison service): pals.service@wmuh.nhs.uk / 020 8321 6261.