"Wasted Journey"

About: St Thomas' Hospital (London)

I went into St Thomas' because I woke up to what I suspected at the time was a vaginal infection. I chose to go to here because it is the closet available service for me and I had no idea where the infection may have come from. It was not sexually related but the nurse that spoke to me insisted it was. She did not even check the region, simply asked if I had been to a sexual health clinic and when I said no, she concluded that it was an STI/STD! Sounds crazy, but it's true, she didn't ask about my sexual past, she didn't ask anything really other than asking for me to pee in a cup. She did not exam the region and told me that some STDs take a while to show and I should go to a sexual health clinic and sent me on my way. Angry and wondering why I was so poorly treated, I went to Guy's Urgent Care Centre where I was thoroughly examined, and questioned found out, it was not an STD, but moderate to severe thrush caused by the prolonged use of strong antibiotics (I had skin surgery just over a week ago), I was persrcibed treatment and left happy. If the staff at St Thomas' had been more attentive and simply looked and listened to me, this would have been a great review, but they juat don't care there. I was not treated as an individual, but rather another "typical teenage case". The fact that the nurse implied I was lying when I suggested it was not sex related was totally disrespectful. I do hope they make some changes around there, they desperately need to

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Thomas' Hospital

The Matron of the A&E department has given the following response to the experience you have described: 'I am sorry you were disappointed with the service you received, as we strive to provide a high quality service to all of our patients. If you would like to contact our PALS department with more information (to help us identify the date and the staff involved) we will investigate what happened and see what we can learn from your experience.' You can contact PALS on telephone 020 7188 8801, 020 7188 8803 or email pals@gstt.nhs.uk.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful