"A&E are useless"

About: Royal Blackburn Hospital / Accident and emergency

(as the patient),

I went up to A&E after ringing 111 who said call your GP which I did. My GP said get up to A&E as I am pregnant and have severe pain in my knee, I can not walk and hopping about isn't doing my baby any good!

I got seen by a horrible doctor up at A&E, I told the doctor the pain was in the back and the side of my knee to which the doctor responded 'well you don't have anything in the back of your knee which could cause pain if injured' I was crying after the doctor moved my leg because I'm in so much agony and the doctor dismissed me! Basically saying I wasn't in pain at all!

Even I know you have ligaments in the back of your knee, which this doctor clearly didn't, where did the doctor get a degree from? Clearly the doctor doesn't know what they are talking about! I came home and again the pain is so severe I haven't been able to move from my sofa, I am not impressed with Blackburn A&E, it wasn't even busy. The doctor just dismissed me without looking at it properly.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Manager, East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust

Dear Corykasia

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm very sorry that your recent experience with us wasn't what you expected, as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care. I will pass on your comments to the team so that they are aware of them.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that didn't make it a good one for you we would really value this so that we can try to improve. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.

Or you can contact our Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns.

Once again many thanks for taking the time to comment and I do hope your knee is recovering.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Royal Blackburn Hospital

Dear Corykasia Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our A&E at Royal Blackburn Hospital which you visited in June 2014. I did reply to you on Patient Opinion on the 27th June 2014 but this message has now also been posted onto NHS Choices on the 1st April 2015 so I will respond too here...I did pass on your comments to the team in the Emergency Department back in June 2014 and I am sure by now that you have a new addition to your family and do hope everything went smoothly for you. If you would like to talk through your previous visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this a poor experience we would really value this so that we can try to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk. Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes to you and your family Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful