"Would they like to be treated the same way,..."

About: Barnet Hospital

None of the doctors I've met behaved 100 per cent professionally or ethically. Here are some quotations of what I heard from the doctors: -"Today's your lucky day" (surgeon, on diagnosing me with breast cancer). -"Do you care for having breasts?" (surgeon, with bored expression). -"We all are going to die" (surgeon, 2nd appointment. True, but hardly appropriate). -"I've no time to answer your questions" (oncologists). -"You are red-faced. I feel intimidated by you" (surgeon). I actually made official complaint about this particular person; after some long months of waiting and chasing up, the response was that "they are sorry, but says they didn't say that". -"You are exposing yourself" (doctor, during my biopsy; at that very moment their necktie started to fall into my wound). -"I've no explanations for that" (oncologist, on low blood count during chemotherapy". -"You research too much" (oncologist). Another couple of things: oncologists not prescribing proper pain killers and laxatives on time ( during chemotherapy), which had me howling in pain for 3 days, then saying reproachfully: "You should've taken those meds at least 2 weeks in advance". I obviously would, if they prescribed it to me in right time. When asking for a pain relief (in person, as the pain was no longer bearable), during chemotherapy, I was told that no doctor was available (on a weekday morning, in the whole huge hospital). After about 2 hours waiting, a pharmacist - no other- arrived, he had no idea what to do, and after much "hmming" and probing he gave me the same thing I already had (Codein), which didn't work (though Tramadol does, but wasn't given then). And the "small" thing - care assistant weighing me before chemotherapy, we both saw it was 57 kilos, and she said it out loud; then she immediately writes down "69 kilos". On a positive note, the specialist nurse, from the breast clinic, is very friendly and professional.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Barnet Hospital

Dear Elena I am sorry to learn about your concerns regarding the care and treatment provided to you by our Breast Surgery Service and I offer my sincere apologies for the upset and inconvenience caused. I see that you state that you have previously raised some of your concerns via the formal complaints process. That said, should you wish us to investigate the other concerns which you have mentioned then please do contact our Patient, Advice and Liaison Team (PALS) by email at bcfpals@nhs.net or by telephone on 0208 216 4924. I also note and thank you for your praise regarding the specialist nurse and this will be passed onto the team. Thank you again for writing to us. Kind regards The PALS Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful