"A & E needs a reminder about dignity - Wards..."

About: Warrington Hospital

Was sent home after six hours from first A & E visit, with completely wrong diagnosis. Ventured back two days later and was admitted after blood tests showed a suspected heart attack. Female sister on triage duty was absolutely wonderful, but male staff nurse was appalling - he just came into the cubicle, lifted my nightdress, tugged at my underwear and gave me an injection into my stomach - all without speaking to me! A male carer smelt so badly of cigarettes (I'm asthmatic) that I asked the male staff nurse to make sure he didn't come near me again. Request ignored! Spoke to the sister, who said she would 'have a word' (I know she did because I overheard some porters talking about a 'patient who had complained about the stench of cigarette smoke'). I was admitted to A2, and the staff were wonderful; experienced the cardiology catheter suite twice and the staff were wonderful; had two echo scans of my heart - staff were wonderful; went on C21, then CCU, then back to C21 - and the staff were wonderful. The consultant cardiologist literally saved my life - and I'll be eternally grateful to him and the rest of the staff for that. As a diabetic, who has lots of food allergies and intolerances, I found the food choices somewhat limited - but no-one told me that I could ask to see someone from the catering staff about this. It would have been so helpful to know that whilst I was in - rather than having to have just a plain jacket potato with butter for four meals. The corned beef pie was something else - it looked like dog food, and not one of us in our bay (4 beds) could stomach it ... the soup was either delicious or so over-spiced it was inedible ... maybe they could offer 'basic' foods for older people? 75% of the food, though, was wonderful. I'd recommend Warrington Hospital to anyone - and but for the very poor experiences in A & E, would have given it 5 stars!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Warrington Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback with us. We're really pleased that your overall experience was a good one on the wards. Thanks for your feedback on A&E and the good and bad things regards meals as well - what we'll do is make sure your comments are fed back to all of the wards and departments you mentioned so that our managers can take a look at everything you have raised - there's a lot of simple practical things we can change quickly there. Thanks again for sharing your experience and we hope you are recovering well from your illness.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful