"I am usually a great defender of the NHS, but not..."

About: University Dental Hospital

I have been going to the dental hospital for two years and im afraid my experience has been a poor one. Firstly, it is hard to get an appointment and the follow up appointments are months over what the dentist suggests. My problems got worse and the treatment I was on didn’t help one bit( I had this treatment 7 years earlier and it didn’t work then either but had to persist with it all over again). When I did get to see a dentist the response was at times baffling considering they are professionals, they had very little idea of what to do even though the problems were fairly straight forward. After the first treatments didn’t work over 12 months, they declared that there was nothing else they could do and that was it, even though there were other options, they just want to peruse them. The biggest complaint I have is that each department don’t talk to each other to try and come up with useful ideas for treatment, which would surely help the patient. There seems to be an attitude of doing the bare minimum they can in this hospital. It doesn’t help that you end up seeing different dentists each time who cant even find the previous appointments notes. Like most appointments on the NHS don’t expect to get in on time, ive easily waited an hour or more in the past before I was seen. On a positive note the toilets are always clean and the admin staff are helpful.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We are very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices website about your experiences in May 2014. We are sorry for the length of time that you have had to wait in between your follow up appointments. However, it is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate in detail. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals, NHS Foundation Trust