"I had to take a friend to the department following..."

About: Southampton General Hospital

The reception staff were disinterested and more keen on their own conversation than the patients. The toilets we filthy there were no refreshments uncomfortable seat which people can wait over 12hrs on. No one speaks to you or helps you it's a disgusting place and in my opinion should be shut down. My friend had to walk from the waiting area on a triaged suspected broken foot to X-era and back again and then in to see someone else who did not say who she was she said to my friend you have not broken anything hears a set of crutches go home and walk on it. She couldn't get us out of there fast enough . I can't believe That it's allowed to function in this way I work for the NHS and our department would not get away with it there was no sight of a sister or matron. And staff just are so slow about everything they can do at the spire hospital in 1hr what it takes this place 12hrs to do. It's disgusting .

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southampton General Hospital

Thank you for your comments about your experience in the Emergency Department, though we were very sorry to read of the poor experience your friend and you had. This is not up to the standard we would expect and should you like to speak to someone about this, please contact our Patient Support Service on 023 8120 6325. Your comments will be fed back to the department and staff groups involved.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful