"3 hour wait at maternity triage"

About: Royal Bolton Hospital / Maternity care

I am 21 weeks pregnant fell getting onto the bus and ended up going to hospital to have an anti D injection due to my blood type staff were lovely on this occasion 26/5/14 Attended again on 29/5/14 as I thought my waters had broke still convinced they had broke! I arrived at hospital at approx 5:20 and did not get seen until after 9pm by the doctor but during this time I was told we were waiting for the doctor offered a drink of water but that was it! I had not felt the baby move from Sunday night and it was Thursday so needed some reassurance the only reassurance I had was that the midwife said the baby may have curled up and in a deep sleep! Not great reassurance with my first baby and everything that had previously happened. The doctor I had did not seem to understand how uncomfortable I was during the examination and even told me to relax with a bad attitude. I am seriously reconsidering where to give birth as the staff on this day did not feel welcoming nor understanding.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Heather Edwards, Head of Communications, Bolton NHS Foundation Trust

I’m sorry that your recent visit to the hospital was not the positive experience your first visit was.

I apologise that your were asked to wait, this is usually because the doctor on call is busy in another area, but this should have been explained to you at the time. Babies at this gestation often do not have regular movements but following any change in the pattern of the movements you were feeling it is better to be seen by your midwife. The midwife at this stage of your pregnancy would listen into your baby heart beat with a hand held doppler. If you would contact us via our PALS service on 01204 390193 we would be happy to discuss any ongoing concerns you have regarding your care.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Royal Bolton Hospital

We're sorry that your recent visit to the hospital was not the positive experience your first visit was. We also apologise that you were asked to wait, this is usually because the doctor on call is busy in another area, but this should have been explained to you at the time. Babies at this gestation often do not have regular movements but following any change in the pattern of the movements you were feeling it is better to be seen by your midwife. The midwife at this stage of your pregnancy would listen into your baby heart beat with a hand held doppler. If you would contact us via our PALS service on 01204 390193 we would be happy to discuss any ongoing concerns you have regarding your care.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful