"Women's' health unit"

About: The Royal Victoria Infirmary

Would never be the type to criticise needlessly but feel so strongly about the bad treatment my wife received here that I have to make my opinion known. I feel forced at this point to leave it anonymously as she is having further treatment here and I fear that it will be taken out on her!! The unit itself is spotlessly clean and state of the art. The reception staff and nurses are fantastic - very kind, caring and understanding. However my wife was seen by two female doctors who were a disgrace to the ethos of the department which is meant to be about dignity and respect. They seemed to forget they were treating a real person with feelings and were cold, dismissive, unkind and lacking in any empathy at all. This is is contrast to the male consultant who is very compassionate. My wife was made to feel that she was an inconvenience and came away from the department very upset and still feeling incredibly unwell. I was very shocked at the way they were with her and felt completely helpless. I will be making a formal complaint through the right channels. Great team of people completely let down by two female doctors who clearly areen't doing the job because they care about people.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from The Royal Victoria Infirmary

Thank you for raising your concerns about your wife’s treatment and care at our gynaecology department. We are very sorry to hear that she had a poor experience. The staff in the gynaecology department understand the difficult and emotional situations our patients are often in and we strive to give the best possible care at all times and we are saddened that you have not experienced this with all our staff. We have shared your feedback in the first instance with the management team within Women’s Services in order that we can learn from your comments. However, in order to address the concerns you have raised directly I would encourage you to speak to either myself (Claire Pinder acting Directorate Manager on 0191 282 5669) or the Matron (Angela Barnes 0191 282 0527) as soon as possible. We would be happy to discuss with you how we can improve your experience of care and how you would like your concerns to be handled.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful