"constant terrible service/waiting times/lack of..."

About: Rochdale Infirmary

I have visited this out patients dept. five times in the last 12 months and have never been seen close to my appointment time. I would suggest the average appointment is 1 hour - 1.5hours behind schedule. It would be interesting to see what their manipulated figure would be! I visited last on Thursday 1st May and when asking the lead nurse if the appointments were running approximately to time she said she was not allowed to answer that question. 45 minutes after my appointment time the nurse came out to say that the computer had broken down. It must be a very unreliable computer because this happened also on my last visit. Hospital visitors were carrying out an inspection of the department and so I spoke to them about the lack of information, waiting times, general morale and unhelpfulness of the nursing staff. The other people who were waiting heard my complaints to them and said that they agreed with me and that they also felt the waiting times and the department was very poor. Several of these other people said that they had visited the department several times. The hospital visitors said that they would get someone to contact me and took my contact details and telephone number. Nearly three weeks later I am still waiting. In comparison I was at the Lucy Pugh out patient’s dept. at the Royal Oldham hospital. My mother had got confused with her appointment time and we had arrived at 9.45 believing the appointment was 10.00am. In actual fact her original appointment was for 10.00am but this had been rescheduled to 10.50 and so we had a long wait ahead of us. the receptionist was lovely, as she always is, and said that she could not promise anything but that she would speak to the nursing staff and explain what had had happened. The doctor who was also very nice and thorough, I believe he saw her at approx. 10.30. twenty minutes before our appointment time. What a difference in attitude! Well done, pity the manager from Rochdale could not visit this department to see how it should be done.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Rochdale Infirmary

We are sorry to read your comment regarding your visit to Rochdale Infirmary You did not leave the department name so we are unable to forward your comment. We are however, pleased you were happy with the service your mother received at Lucy Pugh out-patients department at the Royal Oldham Hospital If you wish to discuss your concerns, please contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0161 604 5897.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful