"Angiogram 14/5/14"

About: Westmorland General Hospital

I was admitted to the Cardiac unit as a day patient on 14 May 2014. The standard of physical care was excellent. We were informed that relatives and friends were not allowed on the ward, however I did ask if my husband could be present when I received the results of the test. He was rushed from the waiting room to sand at the bottom of my bed when I was given the result (which sadly was not good) then rushed out again without us even having a chance to speak to each other. I was left alone and in a state of shock. A nurse on her way to deal with another patient asked is I was OK and did I understand as she passed the bottom of my bed. I mumbled yes, I didn't want to make a fuss and they were busy, but I just needed someone to sit beside me for even a couple of minutes and show a little compassion. I didn't complain at the time because I felt so numb with the shock - I just wanted to go home.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Westmorland General Hospital

We’re really sorry that you didn’t receive the experience you expected while you were with us, and if you would like us to we can investigate the circumstances and respond directly to you. If you would like us to do this, please contact our Patient Relations team on 01539 795497 to allow us to carry out that work

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful