"- stars for ED Staff."

About: Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford)

45 min wait to be assessed finally treated 4hrs after being booked into MIU for treatment that would only takes 10mins Though the Dr was friendly and treated me with respect However when my nail was trephined it was done with a cold needle, with out any pain relief (pain relief was given to go home with), (I work in ED else where in the UK I have never seen a cold needle used before and can not find any guildlines supporting a cold needle) Once the Dr had released some of the blood, he requested that the finger was dressed. When the nurse came in she said it didn't need dressing, just cleaning up. The nurse asked me how i did the injury she repeated this twice more after answering her. She just seems like she is not listerning Im sure she was busy getting me off the computer system before i got to 4hrs. Needles to say my finger bled for three days (thankfully I had access to dressings where I was working in Devon). Im not surprised that people are disappointed with the NHS if they are treated like this.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Patient Engagement & Experience Administrator, Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for sharing your story and I am very sorry for the problems you have experienced. We would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further and ask if you can call the Patient Engagement and Experience Team on 01392 402093 or 402071.

Kind regards

Tracy

Response from Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford)

Thank you for sharing your story and I am very sorry for the problems you have experienced. We would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further and ask if you can call the Patient Engagement and Experience Team on 01392 402093 or 402071. Kind regards Tracy