"NHS at its worst"

About: University Dental Hospital

There is a serious problem when you pay into a system with dubious amounts of national insurance deductions to have the worst care ever. We are 1st world country after all. After 1 year i finally had an appointment with a consultant to have my root canal treated. I went to the appointment thinking finally this will be sorted as I had recently contracted an infection due to waiting so long. I went to the appointment, had a consultation, was prescribed anti-biotics and was told to book into the treatment clinic on a friday at reception. On the way to reception i was thinking of my schedule for the next couple of weeks however the receptionist offered me the date of 8th August. that is 3 months. I said what if my tooth becomes infected again after these anti-biotics, the response was just see your own dentist.Which would mean i would be prescribed more anti-biotics and hence increase my tolerance so if ever need them for something else they wont work as well. This is obviously a disgusting pathway of care by the NHS. Not only that but the hospital seems to be run by kids that know nothing of respect. The staff are unapproachable and you aren't made to feel at ease within the setting. Overall I would recommend to anyone being referred by their dentist to save up or get a loan out and get the treatment privately. At least then you wont lose much time at work, avoid infection, and be fit and healthy in next to no time. I wish i got it done privately but there isn't much point for me now. To top it all off the anti-biotics the consultant gave me have made me feel tired, dizzy, and sick. I have had to take time off work due to this. I will also be raising this complaint with the CQC as i don't think it should carry on practicing like this.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We are very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the Patient Opinion website about your experiences on 15th May 2014. It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate in detail. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Response from University Dental Hospital

We are very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices website about your experiences on 15th May 2014. It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate in detail. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you. The Patient Experience Team Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful