"NHS Consultant (p.t)told me to stop driving..."

About: Royal Berkshire Hospital

I challenged the opinion of this part time Consultant in writing. He did not examine me and did not carry out any test, he remained firmly planted in his chair throughout the appointment. How this man can reach a clinical judgement in such circumstances is beyond me. When I wrote to this Consultant he "went to ground" He refused to speak to me on the phone, he refused to see me face to face and failed to answer my letter until I contacted the Hospital complaints department. When I spoke to the Consultants Secretary she told me "he is a very busy man" (even to respond to his patient? ) This failure to address the concern of a patient, this ability to withdraw a persons ability to drive is totally unacceptable when the Consultant is too disinterested / too busy / too important to act in the best interest of his patient. Perhaps he is too busy to continue with his NHS contract? Is this Consultant answeriable to any senior person? His Secretary was unable to advise me when I requested this course of action.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Berkshire Hospital

We are very sorry that you have had an unsatisfactory patient experience. If you contact the Patient Relations Team on 0118 322 8338 (email talktous@royalberkshire.nhs.uk) they can take more details and facilitate communication with the relevant department.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful