"Rude X-Ray receptionist spoilt previously great..."

About: Southampton General Hospital

I've had superb service from the oral unit at this hospital, who always push for (anonymous) feedback on every visit. No surprise given my very rude experience at the Radiology department that there were no customer feedback forms available. I arrived just in time for reception to open. The two people in front of me were rudely told they'd come to the wrong department, despite them having been directed there by other hospital staff. I moved forward and since there was no "Hello" or "What can I do to help?" I said "Good morning" handed over my reservation notice from my GP. "What the hell am I supposed to do with this?" she snapped. It had my appointment time on, but not my name but there are far more polite ways to ask someone what their name is, or even just to check the appointments diary. I didn't get the lady's name but I don't understand why hospitals employ staff who are so rude and obnoxious to people who are clearly nervous when visiting hospital. Fortunately the young man who actually took my X-Ray was much more polite.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southampton General Hospital

We were disappointed to read your feedback about the manner and attitude of the staff member in the Radiology Department. This is not what we expect from our staff and would like to apologise that this was your experience. This will be shared with managers in the department and fed back to staff. However we were please to read about the superb service you received in the oral department and this will also be shared with the staff there.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful