"extremely disappointed"

About: Royal Blackburn Hospital

I was incredibly disappointed with how long it took them to take my bloods in hospital I was in ward b20 I was seen by the docs at 9:30am and my bloods were not taken untill 7:30pm also after pressing my buzzer for the nurses to come for pain relief it took them over 45 mins to come back to me I also never received the sickness tablets I asked for and they never had any towels so I couldnt have a proper wash also I was told I needed a camera inserted in my stomach which never happend one of the doctors in the triage was so obnoxious and rude basically told me I had over reacted period pains when I had an errupt cyst on my ovaries everytime I saw a different doctor or nurse they had different things written on their notes not having a clue what was wrong with me but I wanted to say the docs and nurses in a&e was superb I was seen within 5 mins of getting there was given pain relief within 15 mins of being there and had my cannula inserted and bloods taken within 30 mins of being there! I'll be going to Burnley General if I need to go to hospital again

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Blackburn Hospital

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our ENT service on B20, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your concerns are passed onto the team about delays in routine clinical procedures. I am very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us wasn't what you expected, but pleased that your experience of our A&E was good, as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this a poor visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to improve it for every patient throughout our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk. If you would like to discuss further any concerns you may have about our services please contact our Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further Once again many thanks for taking the time to comment and apologies it has taken some time to respond

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful