"Out Patient Appiontments for Dermatology"

About: St Lukes Hospital (Bradford)

I had an original appointment booked in early March. This got cancelled and re arranged for another date. I think I had another 3 sets of letters giving me new appointments then to have them cancelled again - i even got a new appointment letterand a cancellation of that appointment letter in the same days post. I have since rung up to book an appointment, only to be told I have missed two appointments in April, - it would have been nice if I had got the letters for those dates. So I have now booked another date, which it is the earliest available in June. The receptionist on the phone was really rude and offhand, and more or less blamed me for missing the dates in April. I wouldn't have been ringing for another date if I didn't want to attend. Once you get to the hospital the facilities and service is really good, its is just the phone manner of some staff, and the waste of time with all the cancelled and re arranged dates - I hope my new one isn't cancelled!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from St Lukes Hospital

Hello, first of all can I please apologise that you did not receive a response to your feedback at the time. This seems to have been due to a technical fault which meant some posts not feeding through to us, and we have asked NHS Choices to put this right.

I am sorry that you were unhappy with your experience, it is not what we expect for our patients, and we know there were a lot of problems with the appointments system at the time you posted. A lot of work has been done since to reorganise that process and improve it.

I hope the issue has been resolved but if not please get in touch.

Should you have any further concerns please ask to speak to a senior member of the nursing team, or the Matron for the area so we can look into it straight away and put it right. If you do not feel you can do that please contact the Patient Experience Manager on 01274 364810.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful