"Turned away"

About: Buckland Hospital

I got to minor injuries 10 minutes prior to closing time and got turned away! I had knee arthroscopy surgery less than a week ago and the paper stitches came off early. They told me they wouldn't see me until tomorrow at 10am, they didn't even look at it to assess it before deciding that, they just said they had another patient and wouldn't have time. I'm very not happy about leaving a hole in my knee until then, especially as I have no dressings at home . They suggested going to folkestone, I am disabled and have no transport to any other hospital. It should say on the website that just because you show up before 'closing time' doesn't mean you'll get seen

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Julie Pearce, Chief Nurse + Director of Quality + Operations, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for providing feedback, and I am sorry that you were asked to leave prior to being seen. I will follow this through with the team, if you would like to provide me with more information so that this can be investigated more formally, then please email me on Julie.pearce1@nhs.net

I hope you were able to see someone the following day.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful