"Helpfulness and friendliness of ..."

About: Royal Bolton Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

Helpfulness and friendliness of all staff

What could be improved

Working conditions for midwives and nurses.

Anything else?

I had my third baby in 3 years, all in Bolton hospital. In that short time I have seen the level of care diminish significantly, NOT due to the professionalism and dedication of the staff, but because there are simply not enough of them! They are genuinely struggling to cope.

If class sizes increase in a school, they employ more teachers. If sales increase in a shop, they employ more sales assistants. Birth rates are increasing - so more midwives are needed. Many people may see midwive's business as rudeness simply because they don't have the time for a quick chat. Or it could be because people (patients and visitors) ignore rules and advice which make their jobs more difficult or put patients' lives at risk. In a shop if there is a sign that says "Breakages will be paid for", then you keep you kids away from expensive china. Why can visitors in hospitals not follow the instruction "These tiolets are for patients use only" or "Do not sit on the bed" It common sense. End of rant

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Bolton Hospital

I am pleased that you found the staff helpful and friendly. I am sorry that you feel the standard of care has deteriorated since you had your first baby three years ago. We review staffing levels on a regular basis and are currently in the process of recruiting more midwives and support workers to improve the service we provide. The number of births at Bolton are increasing and December has been an exceptionally busy month. As you have commented we do provide certain advice for visitors as reducing infection and keeping the environment safe for mother and baby is a priority. If you would like to discuss further please contact Carole Bullough, Departmental Manager for Women's services on 01204 390002.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful