"left in pain any human would not leave an animal..."

About: Epsom Hospital

I feel so sad writing this. I came across many hard working doctors nurses and hca's but sadly feel I have to write about the a and e at epsom. I was admittedwith a ruptured bakers cyst causing me intolerable pain in my knee.I arrived on entonox and for some time was offered no pain relief. A 'nurse practitioner' then attended took my entonox away and told me as I would not be going home with it and need to get used to normal painkillers. She had no bedside manner or empathy. She ordered painkillers that did not work and the day after made me extremely sick. She ordered physio to bring me crutches and said I couldgo home however I was still in agony and could not walk and she looked on as I cried in pain and watched my family struggle to get me into a wheelchair. No care here! I would not let her attend to any member of my family. Several visits to a and e later I was finally admitted as I was unable to move and in chronic pain, had urine burns where I could not reach the toilet at home instead I could barely stand to urinate in a jug. Each previous visit I had been sent home with painkillers. By the time I was admitted I was faced with a doctor who told me to calm down. I was not being rude to staff but I was crying in agony as he tried to examine me. Being told to calm down seemed a bit of a glib statement. Thankfully I can say once admitted the staff on the wards were amazing, doctors, nurses, the fantastic hca's and cleaning and food service staff I could not find fault with and I am grateful for all the help and care I received. After this visit unfortunately I had sickness related to analgesia after I came out resulting in vomiting, bringing up blood, diarrhea and chronic stomach pains. After2 visits to a and e I was left with the Iimpression that despite ythe doctors eho saw me communicatong clearly and certainly having more of a bedside manner than some it is just a case of kicking you out with tablets. At no pount did I feel my pain or later risk of dehydration amongst other thongs were taken seriously. At my last visit to a and e a doctor pointed out I had attended 6 times in the past month. Surely this implies someone somewhere is npt doing their job properly?! I was afmitted to hospital that afternoon as doctors could not be sure what was wrong. Sadly a and e appears to reflect quite appallingly on the rest of the hospital. Though I must stress not all the a and e staff I encounteted had such a poor attitude towards their patiemts care. Many were doing a good job under awful pressure. But certainly I feel how I was left and sent home many times is unnacceptable.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Epsom Hospital

We are absolutely committed to providing compassionate care to all of our patients, and as such, are deeply concerned about some aspects of your feedback. We would ask that you contact our Patient Advice and Liasion Service on 020 8296 2508 so that we can look into the issues you have raised. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know your comments, and we are pleased to hear that the care your received on the wards was much more positive.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story