"Arranging a hearing appointment."

About: Devon Access and Referral Team (DART)

(as the patient),

After ringing the hospital number I chose the loudspeaker option on my new home phone. This has always been the best option for me when using my home phone as I can clearly hear what is being said. Unfortunately the voice at the other end was dreadfully quiet and I had to keep asking the person to repeat what was said. I know my phone is fine because I purchased this type primarily for this reason. I know my hearing is poor but my wife who has good hearing struggled to hear also.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Project Support Manager - Devon Referral Support Services, Devon Access & Referral Team (DART) We are preparing to make a change

Dear ‘leafvine’,

Thank you very much for getting in touch, I really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about this problem.

As you have said that you were calling about your hearing, I think I know which team you will have been talking to and I’ll get all their phones checked as soon as possible. If it’s not too much trouble, could you let me know what number you dialled? As I’ve said, I think I know which team you were dealing with but just on the off chance that I’ve misunderstood, it would be helpful to know the number. I will check the phones of everyone on the team who deal with Audiology and Ear, Nose and Throat referrals though.

Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention.

Best wishes,

Susan Pearce

Update posted by leafvine (the patient)

Hi Susan,

Thank you for your quick response.

In reply to your question about the telephone number regarding my experience with DART the number I called was 01626 883 897. I would be appreciative to know that the problem was not with me. I have since successfully used my phone with another number.

Kind regards


Response from Project Support Manager - Devon Referral Support Services, Devon Access & Referral Team (DART) We have made a change

Dear ‘leafvine’,

Thank you so much for coming back to me. Information from the patient’s point of view is incredibly useful to us and so I’m always grateful to anyone who takes the time – good or bad news!

We’ve checked all the phones for the team in question and they appear to be in working order. However, some of the team have said that they have problems with their headsets from time to time. The team usually get around the problem by picking up the handset instead, and so I would like to apologise that this didn’t happen during your call as it seems it would have improved the quality of sound for you.

As this is only a temporary fix to the problem, we have trialled some different models and have now ordered new headsets for the whole team. Hopefully this will solve the problem permanently.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you were caused and my thanks for helping us to identify and fix the problem.

My best wishes for your future care.

Kind regards,


Updates, changes and questions related to this story