"Horrifying Experience."

About: Epsom Hospital

My daughter was admitted to Epsom General a&e with severe pain in her abdominal area, she had been in a different hospital two days prior to this and we were told what was wrong with her (she had an infection) but her antibiotics weren't as effective as they needed to be. A nurse took a urine sample from her and came back to us with results saying that my daughter was pregnant and that they had tested her urine twice! They then took blood samples which they struggled to do because they couldn't find a vein and we didn't get the results of the bloods back until we asked, which I as a nurse know is not routine. When we asked we were told she is definitely not pregnant. The nurse that initially told us she was pregnant is now nowhere to be found at this point in time, so there was no way of querying her evidence. if I was a parent who would abandon their child because of pregnancy these effects would have surfaced because of such a nonsensical mistake. Never going back. Horrifying experience. I cannot describe my disgust and disappointment in somewhere you're supposed to trust.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Epsom Hospital

Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We can understand why you would be disappointed by this, and would ask that you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) so that we can look into the issues you have raised. PALS are available on 020 8296 2508, or by email at pals@esth.nhs.uk.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story