"Staff Care Excellent but................"

About: University Hospital (Coventry)

I am currently waiting for a by pass operation. I attended for the Consultant appointment having been referred by a Cardiology Consultant from a Birmingham Hospital. Stents are not an option. I need the graft. My treatment, and the hospitality to my wife and I on the day that I attended was excellent. I would say particularly the service from volunteers in haematology. My problem is that all of this has been going on since August 2013. I now have a provisional date of 1st June 2014. This is 18 weeks after the Consultant appointment, coincidentally. Two weeks ago, following a brief stay in hospital after a spell of chest pain, I have been signed off sick and advised to avoid stress. Subsequently, I am now without an income until after the procedure and recovery. This looks like being July! Is no account taken of the effect of loss of income in waiting list weighting? What is the view of the time from August as part of the waiting? I realise that there are people worse off than me but that does not make it right. One other question. Why are your comments so sporadic? Should you not answer each one, even if only an acknowledgement that it has been read.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from University Hospital (Coventry)

Thank you for providing feedback on the cardiology service at University Hospital. While your contact with staff and volunteers was described as excellent, you have raised some concerns over the time you have waited for treatment. The clock for the 18 week target that you mention would have started from when this Trust received the referral letter from your previous hospital in Birmingham. Unfortunately loss of income would not be taken into account for any procedure undertaken by patients. However, I have discussed your post with the Trust’s PALS (Patient Advice and Liaison Service) team and they have asked that you contact them so they can liaise with our colleagues in Cardiology to ascertain if anything can be done to see you sooner. If you feel this would be useful please contact PALS on 0800 028 4203. If you would prefer to contact them by e-mail, the address is feedback@uhcw.nhs.uk Alternatively, you can write to them at the following address: - PALS University Hospital Clifford Bridge Road Coventry CV2 2DX If you do decide to contact them, please make them aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website. We do aim to respond to all comments posted on NHS Choices and will take on board your suggestion about adding acknowledgements. A restriction of the NHS Choices website is that we can only post one response to each post. If we add an acknowledgement that the post has been read, we cannot add further information that might be helpful to the poster. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Communications Team University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust Telephone 0800 028 4203

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story