"completely let down"

About: Birmingham Women's Hospital

I have been let down by this hospital in the worst possible way. In march I went into be checked over as I had been in a little accident on the bus. Whilst there they took a swob and I was told everything is fine to my relief. I attended my 28week antenatal appointment on the 20th March which was for 8.30am when I arrived I was informed that the doctors didnt actually start until 9am and it was 9.20 before seeing anyone. Everything was fine once again. So to go to my community midwife 16th april for my 31week check up and her phone through to the hospital for my blood results from 28weeks she asked if I had been to the GU clinic for follow up I had to ask what this was about as I had not been sent any form of letter or been told that anything had been found. I am mortified embarrassed and totally feel let down by the "professionals". I am now 32weeks and have the stress of sorting this out now so close to my due date with it in the back of my head if this does not clear up there is a chance I could possibly pass it onto my baby during birth or may not even be able to give birth naturally. To think that this is meant to be the best maternity hospital in birmingham and I am due to have my baby here leaves alot to be desired. Soo hurt and let down and unprofessional on the nhs's part. Will never recommend this hospital to anyone...

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Birmingham Women's Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to feedback and we are very sorry to hear you have had a bad experience and are obviously worried and anxious. Our PALS Team would be happy to look into your concerns to help sort out the worries that you have. Please ring them on 0121 627 2747. PALS are Patient Advisers and they can look into issues on your behalf and provide advice and support. Your comments will be passed on to the teams involved in your care, but please do contact the PALS Advisers in the meantime so that they can look into these concerns and help you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story