"Shocked by consultant"

About: Good Hope Hospital / Maternity care

(as a parent/guardian),

My son and his partner experienced a truly shocking encounter with a consultant. Following the safe delivery of our beautiful granddaughter, the consultant made the following comment which was witnessed by a number of members of staff:

"Have you noticed her mongol features?"

I still can't really believe this has happened. I have complained to the Chief Executive and I will not rest until this completely unprofessional consultant is suspended from working with families.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Iona Belgrove, Patient Services Manager, Heart Of England NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Beaumont2012

Thank you for your email. I am very sorry you have such cause for concern surrounding your son and his partner's experience with one of our Consultants. Could I please ask that you contact me on 0121 424 0808 or email me at iona.belgrove@heartofengland.nhs.uk, so that we can investigate this formally?

I do apologise for the concern these issues have caused to you and family.

With kind regards


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story