"Stressful labour and delivery, helped by midwives"

About: Airedale General Hospital / Maternity

(as the patient),

I went in for induction with my little baby on the Friday morning and had the pessary. It was 24 hours before anything actually started to happen but my contractions were just so strong from the get go I really couldn't cope.

I spoke to a midwife who asked me if I would like an epidural and cried because I had already said I didn't want one. She gave me some co-codamol and I tried all my pain relief options before settling on the epidural. My midwife was so encouraging and told me how well I was doing and that I was doing the right thing to keep me and baby calm now. She stayed with me until her shift ended and wished me luck. I then had another midwife who was really encouraging and kept me regularly updated on how I was doing.

When I was finally ready to push it took me 3 hours to get my boy out and they wanted to take me to surgery but luckily I managed to do it with an episiotomy.

I had a post-partum haemorrhage and was in quite a bad way afterwards so was very anxious when I got onto ward 21 as I still couldn't get out of bed so was worried about being left alone with my baby.

The midwife in charge on the ward that night came to visit me regularly and was just a buzz away to help me out with him. At one point she took him with her to settle him so I could try to get a little bit of sleep.

I have to admit that some of the doctors on the labour ward were a little rude and condescending but I felt that all the midwives and students who took care of me were not receiving enough credit for their hard work. I admired them so much to the point they've actually inspired me to go into midwifery myself.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Karen Dunwoodie, Patient Experience Lead, Airedale NHS Foundation Trust

It is very pleasing to read that you were well supported by the midwifery team during your labour and birth, but disappointing that your experience was marred by the attitude of some doctors, for which we apologise.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Airedale General Hospital

We are pleased you had a mostly positive experience during the recent birth of your son and that you found all the midwives supportive and caring. However, we are disappointed this was not the case in respect of some of the doctors. We urge you to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01535 294019 so that we can discuss this with you further. We wish you well in your future career.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story