"Frustrated by lack of communication"

About: Royal Manchester Children's Hospital / Paediatric neurology Royal Manchester Children's Hospital / Paediatrics

(as a parent/guardian),

My daughter, who is now 12-years-old, has been visiting the Manchester Children’s Hospital since she was born.

Unfortunately, there has been a lack of communication across the hospital. Initially we experienced this with the urology department, but since she has been referred to specialist spinal services the same thing has happened.

We have to wait a long time for an appointment. When we call to chase up, we keep being told by hospital staff that they are very busy and there are waiting lists. I really appreciate that they are busy and there is waiting time, but I don’t feel the hospital appreciate that when working full-time it is very difficult to arrange time off, and you need to plan ahead. We are expected to understand their time constraints, but I don’t feel they appreciate the pressures on the patients.

It feels like my daughter has just been left. It’s an awful situation which makes me really frustrated and also leaves my daughter upset. Recently we made an appointment and were told by the consultant that the waiting time would be 6-8 weeks. He said we’d hear from the hospital beforehand with a date. However 4 weeks passed and we still had no progress and still don’t have a date. It even got to the stage where my daughter wanted to call up herself and sort it out!

Even something as simple as a quick email to explain the situation would help. It doesn’t take much time but would make a big difference. Currently I feel if we don’t chase it up, nothing will happen.

However, the general care is fantastic and it really is a lifeline for my daughter, we know she is getting the best treatment possible. It is just the communication which leaves us frustrated.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We are very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices and Patient Opinion website about your experiences with urology and spinal surgery services at Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital. It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate in detail. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you in detail

Updates, changes and questions related to this story