"Over the last ten years I have ..."

About: Royal Free Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

Over the last ten years I have been in the Royal Free many times, both as an out patient and for minor operations. I have always been impressed.

When staying in, the meals are not perfect, but considering I could choose from a menu, and considering how difficult it is to cook for so many people, I was more than content with the food although if it were a public restaurant, I would not have been as impressed.

The nurses, doctors and others seemed a little overworked, but theu were always courteous and treated me with respect.

What could be improved

I have to treat this as a hospotal and not a hotel. Bearing in mind the distinction, I couldn't see, from my point of view, anything that could have been improved.

Cellphone use was forbidden when I last went there, and I was disappointed when I strayed into a paying section (cosmetic surgury) to see the nurses, doctors and patients using cellphones there. I wondered why paying patients could use cellphones but NHS patients could not?

Anything else?

If I have to see a specialist or whatever, I always insist on going to the Royal Free.

I have no relatives working for the Royal Free or for the National Health Service. I have no friends who work for the NHS either. In fact, apart from being on nodding terms with my local doctor, I don't even know anybody in the nHS service.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Free Hospital

We are glad you have been so pleased with your treatment at the Royal Free. Thank you for taking the trouble to write.

Our policy about mobile phones has now changed and they can be used in public areas and some other areas, provided they don't interfere with patient care or medical equipment. Our previous policy applied to everyone and should have been enforced in all areas.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful