"Eye problem walk in clinic"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

I was advised by my optician and GP to go to the walk in eye clinic at LRI Balmoral building following an eye injury. It was very crowded and I just managed to get a seat. It was obvious there would be a long wait. Any clinic that offers a walk in service has no idea how many people will attend, so a long wait is not unacceptable. OK the booking in staff could have been a bit more "customer friendly" but it is medical treatment that is important. I appreciated the time to see the nurse was posted on a board and also the time to see a doctor. Time to get a coffee/ lunch read the paper etc. The nurses were pleasant and chatty. When I saw the doctor he introduced himself, explained what he was looking for and reassured me. I left pleased I had been seen without an appointment. I used to be involved in communication skills training in NHS, whilst not 100 percent on all counts, staff do well under this sort of pressure.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear “Rutland Girl” Thank you for taking the time to leave your helpful feedback. As you have seen it gets very busy in the walk-in clinic, but regardless of that it is important that all of our staff are polite and friendly. We have taken your thoughts onboard and are already working to improve those areas where we need to be better at this. We are really pleased though that you were reassured by the care you received and wish you well in your recovery. If you would like to follow-up any of your comments – good or bad – please feel free to contact me. My email address is martin.watts@uhl-tr.nhs.uk. I’d be happy to hear from you. Yours sincerely, Martin Watts Service Manager for Ophthalmology Leicester’s Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story