"Delays at opthalmic appointment"

About: Queen's Medical Centre / Ophthalmology

(as the patient),

I arrived 10 minutes early for my appointment at 8.30am at the eye clinic on A floor in late March. There were two nurses standing around and also two patients waiting before me.

Nothing was happening and then the consultant rolled in at 8.40am very late. There were no apologies or explanations and I had to wait a further 20 minutes with no information at which point one of the nurses explained that as a new patient I needed to have some tests which I would have to wait some time for as they had forgot to do. Why these tests had not been done in the hour I was waiting when the nurses were visibly not busy and were standing around god knows.

I explained I had to get back to work as it was now an hour since my appointment was due. I then had a very rushed consultation without the relevant tests and left feeling very angry.

So many own goals and lack of information by the team stemming from the consultant being late. Doctors are not gods and have as much responsibility to give explanation for poor performance as anyone else.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with the waiting time for your appointment and with the subsequent delay related to additional tests that were ultimately not carried out.

While we do advise that appointments at clinic may take up to 3 hours to complete, and that patients should plan accordingly, I can appreciate it must have been frustrating if you were aware that the consultant had arrived late and that this had contributed to your waiting time, and I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

I will be looking into the concerns you raise about the clinic and waiting times, and if you would like to discuss this matter further with me, I would be glad to hear from you; please contact me by email at joan.black@nuh.nhs.uk.

Joan Black

Opthalmology AGM

Updates, changes and questions related to this story