"Moved three times in three nights"

About: Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford)

My mother is currently in R D and E Hospital having been admitted on Friday night to A and E. Last night she was woken from her sleep and moved to another ward at 11.00pm with no explanation given and no welcome/communication given on arrival in the new ward. Tonight she was told that she was going to moved again - it is nearly 11.00pm and this has yet to happen. At 88 years of age she is confused and distressed. I have rung and complained and been told it is common practice to move patients at night. As a family we have decided to bring her home tomorrow - the care we can offer has got to be better than this. So disappointing as my children have received excellent care at the R D and E in the past but the same standards are not applied to the elderly.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford)

Thank you for sharing your story and I am very sorry to hear of the problems you have experienced. We would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further and ask if you would like to call the Patient Engagement and Experience Team on 01392 402093. Kind regards Tracy

Response from Patient Engagement & Experience Administrator, Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for sharing your story and I am very sorry to hear of the problems you have experienced. We would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further and ask if you would like to call the Patient Engagement and Experience Team on 01392 402093.

Kind regards

Tracy

Updates, changes and questions related to this story