About: Royal Lancaster Infirmary

My boyfriend visited the accident and emergency on a Sunday morning, the waiting time was very quick, we were in and out in an hour and that included an X-ray. But it was all pretty pointless when they missed that he had a fractured shoulder. He was sent home after being told it wasn't broken or dislocated. He was given a appointment to the fracture clinic a week later, but we cancelled it as he had decided to go privately with his health insurance. We even received a snotty letter telling him he hadn't turned up for the appointment with out letting them know, but I phoned them so I know that's not true. Anyway, thank god he has a private insurance as he is now having a scan to see if it needs an operation or not. Why is it that 3 NHS doctors completely missed the fracture on his X-Ray, they must all have NHS glasses that don't work! Sorry, just angry, he has been in so much pain. :-(

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Lancaster Infirmary

We’re very sorry you had the experience you have outlined above and would like the opportunity to investigate fully in order to ensure that we can both apologise personally to you, and ensure we take steps to ensure that this type of experience is not repeated. We’d therefore be grateful if you could contact our Patient Experience team on 01539 795497 so we can gain the details needed to carry out a full investigation

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story