"Impressed by the changes made"

About: Doncaster Royal Infirmary / General medicine

(as a relative),

My mum was a patient on ward 27 in August 2013 and had a poor experience no one told us anything staff very busy and standards borderline ........ she has since been on ward 24 and 27 during January and March and although there were still a few gripes I noticed a real difference

ward 27 had a red jug syztem for patients needing encouragement with fluids......all day visiting......colour menu books for patients / relatives and the ward seemed calmer

ward 24 very very tidy on the 2 days mum was there and the ward sister was telling a student about them using proper tea cups for patients instead of paper ones to encourage drinking...they also had coloured plastic cups which were really good for my mum who has low vision......

Still not enough staff for the number of patients in my oppinion but the wards seem to be getting better.

Saw who I presume was the matron on 24 and 27 frequently talking to staff and the ward managers and patients. Some of the doctors especially the junior ones were happy to chat even though I could see how buzy they were.

Still a way to go but was impressed by the changes made: )

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Doncaster Royal Infirmary

Thank you for your positive comments on our staff, they are greatly appreciated and will be fed back in due course. We always strive to deliver the best service we can to our patients and are very happy that your experience was a positive one and that you have noticed changes and improvements since last year. The Trust has gone through a period of restructuring to 100% ensure that patient care is the priority in everything we do and every decision we make so it is pleasing to see this being noticed by members of the public already. Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story