"Poor communication"

About: Stepping Hill Hospital

My 92 year old mum was in Stepping Hill for a hip replacement after a fall. There was no attempt made to keep me informed (mum has dementia problems so her memory is poor), and I was fobbed off when I asked if I could speak to a doctor. I received no written report of her treatment, e.g what kind of stitches she has, how long they had to remain etc., even though I have since been told that I should have been given this. Mum had a couple of mental health assessments, but I was not informed that her score meant that she has in fact got dementia. I had to ascertain this from asking her GP about any letters they had received, relating to her stay in hospital. All in all, vey disappointing.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Cath Marsland, Head of Risk and Patient and Customer Services, Stockport NHS Foundation Trust

I am very sorry we did not communciate well with you and have fed your experience back to the relevant team for them to understand the importance of good communication

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Stepping Hill Hospital

I am very sorry we did not communciate well with you and have fed your experience back to the relevant team for them to understand the importance of good communication. Cath Marsland, Head of Risk and Patient and Customer Services

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story