"Waiting Times"

About: University Hospital Lewisham

I received a letter telling me I'd missed an appointment and so, my details would be removed from the hospitals list. I never received the appointment letter in question. The whole process began after visiting my GP, and waiting about 8 weeks, I had an initial consultation and x-ray after which the consultant referred me for an MRI scan. I attended the MRI about 3 weeks ago but it could not be carried out because of previous surgery I'd had. I was told at the time that the original consultant would be informed and I would hear from him to see where to go from here. I heard nothing apart from the letter yesterday telling me I'd missed an appointment . I called the appointments telephone number, waited for 10 minutes to speak to someone and when I did eventually speak to someone, they gave me another number to call. I called that number and when it was answered, I was given another number to call. I finally got to speak to the right person who told me that I wouldn't be able to get a new appointment to see the consultant until May ! I'm now going to explore the possibility of going privately - I'm not prepared to wait another 3-4 months.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from University Hospital Lewisham

due to a technical issue you may not have received a response to your comments.

Thank you for your feedback. I can only apologise for the experience you had. We take all feedback seriously and as a reflection of our practice. I will share your comments with the teams involved to help improve the quality of service we deliver in the future.

Kind regards

Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story