"worst birth ever"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

Had a 5 day labour. Went in with regular contractions but not dilated. Wanted a natural birth. After the second visit with regular and close contractions, they let me in... to wait another 4 days!! They tried to induce me on the 5th day, it still did not work. They had to do an emergency c section. It was the worst 5 days of my life, could not sleep, and did not eat for the last two days, as I was vomiting, had contractions all the way through, staff could not agree why I was not dilating. They kept telling me to wait. I felt like an animal. My water broke when I was in a bath, they did not see it. I stayed without them for 2 days. My baby could have died. Because of all of the latter, I was then sick for 3 or 4 days, that almost ruined my breastfeeding because of the anitbiotics... Also, Midwife took my baby for an hour without any explanation, and shouted at me when I protested. Hygiene was poor and I could go on. Under staffed, rude staff or just completely over worked and unable to help. Worst experience of my life.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. I am very concerned about the issues you have raised and I would like to discuss these with you in more detail. I would appreciate you contacting me on 01634 825157 to do this so I am able to take the appropriate actions to address the issues that you raise. Karen McIntyre Karen Head of Midwifery

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story