"Poor administration and why is it so hard to get my results? "

About: Barnsley Hospital / Dermatology South Yorkshire and Bassetlaw

(as the patient),

In my opinion the department seems useless and unorganisized. They have loads of staff but no doctors. No one seems to know what they are doing, couldn't get follow up appointments as there were no doctors, ended up going to A and E loads of times and got told by a member of staff not to go there for that and to see my GP as that's what they get paid for (even though my eye would not open at all).

Eventually got follow up appointment and then surprise surprise there was no doctor. They had been ringing me on a withheld number and not left a message to tell me. I ended up seeing a doctor the day after. She organised tests, a biopsy and blood tests, went for blood tests later that week, while having tests tried phoning dermatology about biopsy as they said they would ring me but didn't. No one answered phone so ended up going to dept to see why. They closed department down for lunch which in my opinion is unacceptable as that is when people who work are most likely to ring. Eventually saw a nurse who was on lunch and she got a receptionist for me, they said they would ring me about biopsy. I walked downstairs and they rang with an appointment. I changed my day off work to go for biopsy, turned up and it should have been at Cudworth not Barnsley, so had to go to Cudworth instead. Before going to Cudworth I had to go to pharmacy for tablets that doc had prescribed as they had none in when I went before so had to order them which is a waste of time. Turned up at Cudworth and it was not only me they had sent to wrong place but everybody.

Good job they do not work on switchboard for fire engines or they would send firemen to wrong house. Eventually had biopsy done. Kept phoning for results and got no results. All they said was you've only just had them done and how long it takes to get them back. I told them how long it takes and they shut up then.

Went to doctors and they didn't have them. Kept going eventually they had my blood results but said I couldn't have them as I needed to see my GP to get them and there were no appointments for 2 weeks. Gventually got them but GP wasn't helpful and didn't explain much. Eventually my condition deteriorated and I was in a lot of pain, lots of swelling all over my body, severe muscle weakness, had problems swallowing and food coming back up.

Since then I've been diagnosed at another hospital. E mailed for my results and they did not get back to me for a month and then weren't much help. To my knowledge the doctor at Cudworth has my biopsy results but is hanging onto them for some reason which I believe is illegal. Thankfully I'm under a better hospital now and have been diagnosed and am being treated. They are brilliant at the other hospital. I'm lucky it wasn't cancer as I know I would have been dead by now with all the delays from Barnsley but I do wonder how many people have died because of them. The condition I have got requires treatment as soon as possible and a lot of my muscles have wasted away because of delay in treatment. I think it would be a lot better if you shut the department down.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Barnsley Hospital

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear you had a poor experience whilst using our services. Please could you contact our PALS team on 01226 432430 or barnsleypals@nhs.net as we would like to discuss this matter further with you. Best wishes Barnsley Hospital Communications Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story