"seen 2 hrs late!"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

Went in today for a post op check up. Appointment was at 3.45pm but was not seen until 5.30 with no communication from the reception staff or apologies. In fact all the patients were complaining verbally and the extremely rude reception staff suggested we could leave if we got tired of waiting! Reception staff left at 4.45pm and closed the shutters. Patients were still coming in and had no staff to ask for help Waiting room was small crammed and dirty. The toilet facilities were apsolutely disgusting This is my second visit and on both occasions I have been let down. MRI is a totally old and disgusting hospital with rubbish rude staff. Staff are using the zero tolerance to get away with being rude and unhelpful! Go to salford or wythenshawe hospitals instead! Much better service there!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn that your out patient experience was not a positive one. It is important to us that comments are heard and seen as an opportunity provided to the service to make changes and improvements wherever possible.

Whilst due to unforeseen circumstances, delays with appointment times can sometimes occur, this is often very difficult to predict. However, as a Trust we expect all our staff to treat patients in a professional and courteous manner at all times and wherever possible, to keep patients informed of any delays which may arise with clinic waiting times. We apologise that this has not been your experience and this is not the standard we would expect. Your concerns have also been raised with the department involved so that they can look into your comments so that others don’t experience the same issues as you did.

It is difficult to respond to all the posts in a full way often because of a lack of detailed information, therefore if you would like to discuss this with us in more detail, please feel free to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Updates, changes and questions related to this story