"Lack of response to my complaint"

About: Leicester General Hospital / General medicine

(as a relative),

I complained to the PILS office at Leicester General in mid December via their on line form about the breach of the 18 week referral to treatment time as enshrined in the NHS constitution. Despite many phone calls to PILS I have not had a reply - my husband is still waiting for his treatment. They admit receiving the complaint but that's as far as it goes.

I have two complaints-

The lack of response from the PILS office to my complaint - I keep being fobbed off by them despite being told they have a target response time of 48 hours. It's now over 40 days and counting

The fact that my husband has waited well over 18 weeks for any sort of treatment to start and in fact has now had his appointment put back even further.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

Dear Janet,

I'm really sorry to hear that you have not yet received a response to your complaint from the PILS team.

I have tried to identify your complaint among our records, but unfortuately, I do not have enough information here to do so. If you could please contact me with further information (the date your original complaint was made, your husband's name etc) I promise to get an update from my team on the progress of this ASAP.

We can discuss the nature of your complaint in more detail then too. I am now off site until Monday morning, so you can either email me over the weekend Amanda.Randle@uhl-tr.hs.uk or give me a call on Monday morning on 0116 258 8901.

Kind regards

Amanda Randle

Senior Safety Manager (Clinical Risk & Complaints)

Leicester's Hospitals

Updates, changes and questions related to this story