"Rude birth centre staff"

About: Maidstone District General Hospital

I telephoned the birth centre to see if it is possible to self refer (as it is at Darent Valley Hospital) and the manner of the lady on the telephone was disgusting. She was condescending and rude, and spoke to me like I was talking utter nonsense. Totally put me off delivering here and ended up refering to Darent Valley. I work full time and being new to the area, I was finding it difficult to find a day to register at a GP and be seen. A simple solution such as self referral would have been ideal. To be fobbed off with "well, you'll just have to take some time off", in a vile tone, was not helpful!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Maidstone District General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience when contacting the birth centre earlier this year; please accept our apologies for the delay in responding. We were very sorry to learn that the response you received from the member of staff you spoke with caused you such distress and that as a result, you chose to be referred to another Trust. We have passed your comments on to the management team for their attention. Kind regards, The PALS Team.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story