"Arrogant consultant"

About: Hexham General Hospital

I was waiting for a scan in X-ray on the afternoon of Wednesday 22/1/13, having travelled across the county for it. The whole out-patient clinic was disrupted by an arrogant, self-important orthopaedic surgeon who barged in and insisted that his in-patients were seen before the already waiting out-patients. He showed complete disregard for the excellent X-ray department staff and, more importantly, for the out-patients already there, who had long waits as a direct result of his arrogance. If I knew his name I would make a formal complaint, as his attitude was utterly appalling.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Hexham General Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam I am so sorry that you have been made to feel disregarded by the attitude of one of our medical staff. This is not an experience that we would ever want any patient to have and it is never acceptable to make any patient feel that they are not our priority. I am sorry that that you were made to feel this way. I would like to share your experience with the general manager Darren Campbell. Due to the anonymous nature of your review it is very difficult to identify the day and time that this occured. I would be really grateful if you could contact me at Joanne.mackintosh@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk to provide these details. This will allow Darren to act on this. Best Wishes Jo

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story