"Lack of staff"

About: Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother Hospital

The staff were simply overwhelmed and although the medical care was excellent the nursing care was poor.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Julie Pearce, Chief Nurse + Director of Quality + Operations, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust We are preparing to make a change

Thank you for providing feedback and your observations about nursing care. We are struggling at the moment with the number of extra beds we have had to staff due to the number of patients admitted and the ability for us to discharge patients who require additional community or social care support. We have employed additional nursing staff for the winter period, however the numbers are not ideal for the number of patients we are caring for.

Thank you for raising your concerns, feedback is very important to us and we will endeavour to work with services outside hospital to ensure we can reduce the number of patients we are able to care for effectively.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story