About: Salford Royal

I was admitted to Salford Royal Hospital over the Christmas period for an ORIF of the left ankle and insertion of a lateral fibular plate. Upon admission, the Hospital staff were brilliant. I was quickly attended to, dealt with and allocated a bed for the evening before being discharged the following day. I was asked to return to the Hospital on Friday 27th December (having starved the night before) for an operation that didn't happen, this continued through to Monday December 30th when the procedure took place. From this point on, the hospital started to decline. They moved me from ward B5 to B6 in the middle of the night, discharged me with a prescription of Tinzaparin Sodium (with no, I repeat no sharps bin to dispose of needles) and also failed to issue me with a follow up fracture clinic appointment. To add to these issues, my heel began to crack through the base of the cast that had been put on my leg to cover the wounds. Upon contacting the ward and receiving a call back, I was asked to return to the Hospital ASAP as the wrong cast had been applied and this needed rectifying immediately. The Plaster Room sorted this issue out and then told me that half of the cast was unnecessary and who ever had fitted it had done so incorrectly. I fear, that whilst the Staff at the hospital are friendly and usually helpful, they lack basic and important communication skills between departments as well as each other and this leaves me feeling uncertain as to whether or not I would return to Salford Royal in the future.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Salford Royal

I'm sorry to read about the problems you have described and we would very much welcome the chance to look into these issues further, as such, please can you contact our PALS team (PALS@srft.nhs.uk) to discuss further.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story