"overlooked illness"

About: Arrowe Park Hospital

I am extremely disappointed in the care I received at this hospital for my 21 month old son. I had been referred to arrowe parks children's A+E by my local walk in centre, as my son had a temperature but his hands and feet were freezing and his breathing was fast. Upon arriving at A+E I went to the reception to explain who we wed and the response I was given I found to be rude we were ordered to go and sit down in waiting area as they had not been told we were coming as if us being there was such and inconvenience. Then a nurse came over and told us to come through so she could do his checks whilst waiting for the paediatricion. The nurse asked why we had come and I then explaine. How we had been referred as nurse at walk in centre was worried about his feet and hands being cold when he had a temperature. The nurse then felt the need to cut me off and Say that this was normal and he was obviously fine as by now my so had cooled down due to having ibruprofen. We then waited a further hour to see the paediatricion who was briefed by nurse who told her everything was okay with my son. So when the paediatricion came to check him she was more interested about his eczema than why I had come. She quickly examined him and said everything was fine with him and that it was probably something viral although there was nothing she could see. She told me I needed to go the Doctors about his skin as what I was using was obviously not working. So the next day I booked to see a doctor over his eczma. As the doctor see my son was clearly unwell and he also checked him over and told me my son had septic tonsilitis and needed a 10 day course of antibiotics. I can not believe this was missed by a paediatricion all because she listened to a colleagues opinion I am truly outraged and have lost all confidence in the system!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about the experience you had with your son at the Children's Emergency Department at Arrowe Park Hospital. Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust is committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however, we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right. We have noted your comments about your experience and the care your son received. If you would like for us to look into your concerns further, we will need personal details and more information about what happened. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, you can ring the Complaints Department on 0151 604 7660, email wih-tr.Complaints@nhs.net or in writing to Complaints Department, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. The Complaints Department can discuss the best way that we can try to address your concerns. May we once again apologise for your experience.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story