"Appalling service for cancer patients"

About: Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

My father is suffering from terminal cancer and has been in and out of this hospital. today I got through to the reception on the third attempt to be put through to the correct ward, he had been moved since my last visit, the recptionist 'said in a loud voice,' this woman wants to visit her dying dad, but unless she lives in timbuc, bloody too, don't know why she doesn't know where he is. if he was my dad I'd know'. when I asked for her name she said, ' I'm not getting involved in this' when I asked her why she thought she had the right to make sweeping judgements about callers she refused to give her name. My brother and myself share the care of my mother who has dementia, and my dying father, he visits daily, as he lives locally, but I wanted to visit that day and didn't know where he had been moved to since my last visit last week, I live further away. to be met with this kind of attitude in a hospital is appalling beyond belief.When all I was trying to do was find out wher my father had been moved to when I visited the hospital later that day. I have along journey. I can't beleive staff with this attitude are still employed at the hospital. I called at 15.30 on 12/11/13 so whoever was on reception at this time wouldn't be hard to find. I work for a publicservice and would be sacked for such behaviour.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Dear Ms Happs Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and I am so very sorry that you have been met with this kind of reception from a routine enquiry into the whereabouts of your father. This incident is understandably upsetting to you and we will try to resolve it in the most appropriate manner, however, from your comments above it is slightly unclear where this comment originated, whether it was main reception, Accident and Emergency or some other ward. Please could I ask you to make contact with our PALS service on 01202 704886 so that we can take further details from you and start a thorough investigation into your comments? Once again I apologise for the manner in which you were received and I thank you for drawing it to our attention.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story